Blueberry Pie, with a Twist

On a pie fix at the moment. This attempt at cleverness revealed a slightly creepy creation. Apple pie is calling my name next, but I had to get this one in. We have a lot more frozen blueberries where these are from (the freezer). I prepared three double crusts and froze them until I needed them. It’s made pie creation a breeze. I used the standard double crust recipe and found a blueberry pie recipe on Allrecipes.com. I read through the top two reviews and followed some of their advice. I used the 3/4 cup recommended sugar for a light sweetness that isn’t too rich. I used about 6 Tablespoons or 3/8 cup of tapioca flour for the thickener instead of cornstarch. I want to try arrowroot starch when I can afford it. I covered the edge with aluminum foil until the last 10 minutes of baking and kept the oven at 375 degrees. I brushed egg white and sugar on when I took the aluminum foil off. I took the pie out of the oven for this procedure. The last 10 minutes were an estimate, and mostly just watched for the crust to brown. I ended up with a total of about 55 minutes of baking.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , by Rabi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rabi

I have gluten sensitivity (different than an allergy, or Celiac Disease) and lactose intolerance. I am constantly learning new cooking techniques and love to cook and bake. My goal is to combine sustainable, ethically grown and raised food into recipes that are visually appealing, healthy and repeatable by visitors to the blog. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

